When customs travel from East to West

Few days ago I was in a meeting with one of my colleague when I accidentally stepped on his foot. My practice or the way I have been taught by elders at home is whenever I step on someone, I am supposed to stretch my hands to touch that someone with respect and then touch my heart with a sense of apology.

 

When I travelled from East to West, I made all efforts to not demonstrate such practices in public especially in front of a non-Indian person. But when I stepped on this colleague who is an Italian – my instinct fooled me to just go by what I have learned as a child. I stretched my hands to touch the person as a token of acknowledgement. And then immediately my sixth sense woke me from my eastern culture and I just pulled my hands back.

 

But, Guess what happened. The damage is already there. For sometime my Italian friend was quiet; May be he was making his own guesses and then turned around and asked – Was she just punching me !!!

 

Boy – Did I just get an award – “Team Boxer”

 

Cheers

(,”)

<((>

./|.

This entry was posted in Work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When customs travel from East to West

  1. Reena says:

    Team Boxer … i like that 🙂

  2. Krithiga says:

    he he he…Hey.. I do that too. My American Manager once asked me why did I do that.. I explained to him. He just ended with "Interesting:)". In a similar vein, a custom thats both in east and west.. saying "Bless you" when someone sneezes.

  3. Uthra says:

    ha ha ha ….

  4. kanchan says:

    Go Goms!

Leave a comment