Media – doing good or bad?

The really really bad thing about the media is that it doesn’t care about people’s emotions. Should media take care of emotions – I don’t know.

 

All I know is I don’t like to see when one of most popular news media shows a video of a group of men allegedly abusing, assaulting and then stripping a woman in her 20s in full public view at a busy road in Patna, India. Apparently, a police team was reportedly present at the site and watched the attack on the woman for nearly an hour before taking the culprits to the police station.

 

The incident itself is heinous and horrendous, but even more tragic is the reaction of media . On all websites you find this incident presented for watching in video-as if it is entertainment. The media reps on the scene could have prevented the episode by getting other people present there to thrash the hooligans-but they were busy filming the ‘scoop’

 

Why did our media do this? To give strength and courage to such shameless men who can now boast for what they did on TV? Or to prove to women that she is weak and can be assaulted in front of 100s of people and she cannot expect help from anyone including the one who is taking the video? What would you answer your kids when they bump on this video few years from now?

 

Things don’t end here. The other day when I went for a walk with my friend, I realized he was so deeply hurt by one of the you-tube videos which he bumped on. The video shows the recording of his brother dying in a bike accident. Are people so mean that they don’t have the humane to save the dying person and rather take the video of it and post it in you-tube. Who is now responsible when this friend feels haunted all the time by the video?

 

Shame on such media..

 

Cheers

(,”)

<((>

./|.

This entry was posted in Society. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Media – doing good or bad?

  1. Rethish says:

    Ninne ulamparayilekku oru ticket eduthu tharano hehehehe….On a serious note, what have you done for the society in India all these years? Anything commendable? Am not saying about charity or other good things. I am referring to corruption, nepotism, social injustice, political barbarianism etc and what is your contribution against its eradication from society. These are basic things which hampers the growth of a nation. Its very easy to comment against but extremely difficult to go against them in real time.Good Luck …hehehe….

  2. Gomathi says:

    Exactly to what you said: I may not have the money or the power to make the change I want, but for sure I wont keep mum when such things happens. I admit I cannot go all the way to India and slap the guy who was taking the video in this case. But all I can do is to publicize such actions and how these actions affect a persons life. With my blog I am hoping that I am bringing awareness so that people dont do such mistakes in future.

Leave a comment