Our road trip to Salt lake city

Last weekend – the long weekend due to Memorial day holiday was spent with my friends and my hero’s brother in law in Salt lake city. Yes – it was another wonderful road trip from Seattle to Salt Lake city. One way drive was around 12 hours – with my hero driving all the time. We both love road trips and this one was just as amazing as our previous trips.
 
The purpose of the visit was to meet my ex-room mates with whom I spent nearly 4 yrs before getting married. It was so much fun catching up on those silly talks and rewinding the memories to the past. Mere coincidentally – my hero’s brother in law was in Salt Lake city and this gave us opportunity to spend time with him as well. We visited the Great Salt Lake, Antelope Island, Salt lake city downtown, Temple Square and drove through the mountain ranges to the water reservoir which provides drinking water to the city.
 
Great Salt Lake is the largest salt lake in the Western Hemisphere, the fourth-largest terminal lake in the world, and the 33rd largest lake on Earth. This lake is really charming with its vastness, flora and fauna. The Salt Lake City originally named "Great Salt Lake City" is named after this river.
 
Temple Square is the most popular attraction in the state with its unique architecture. This occupies one full block in downtown Amazing architecture, with tall iron gates makes it more outstanding. The temple square is open year around from 9am to 9pm and there is no entrance fee. I guess there are also some guided tours available.
 
Antelope Island is the largest islands in Great Salt Lake. There is a ramp that connects this island to the main land. Though rich in scenic beauty, this place is kind of a desert with rocks and some flora. I was surprised to see campers here under the hot sun. You will see a lot of Bisons and Deers here.
 
On our drive back – we stopped by Shoshone Falls in Idaho. We were debating on whether we should take this 6 mile diversion from the freeway. Little did we knew that this diversion in our trip will lead us to a remarkable experience. This falls is more known as the Niagara of the west. Shoshone Falls is among the most spectacular of natural beauties along the Snake River. The falls are best viewed during spring when the water content is high, after which most of the water is diverted for irrigation purposes.
 
The days in Salt lake City were very hot and sticky and now I have started realizing how lucky I am to be in Seattle J. I bet Seattle is one of the pleasant climates you would want to be.
 

Someday I want to do a cross country from Boston to Seattle. Lets see when this will happen.
 

Cheers
(,”)
<((>
./|.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our road trip to Salt lake city

  1. Prathiraj says:

    Boston to Seattle sounds cool, a quick search on Live maps shows ~46 hrs drive, should be fun 🙂

  2. sasirekha says:

    Seattle is heaven. I totally agree. I was also in SLC and Yellow stone and the sun burnt me.. I am totally tanned 😦  You realise how lucky it is to be here only when you see other places.

  3. Gomathi says:

    46 hr of drive –
    We can try driving 8 hours a day
    Keeping some time for photography, food breaks and site seeing – this will reduce to 5 hrs
    Which means 9 days.
    I would prefer 2 weeks (14 days) drive back.

Leave a comment