Is the number of joint family slowly reducing

Ours is not a joint family. We are nuclear families living close by but living independently. I have always felt that more the number of people under the roof, more the chaos. When my friends talk about their joint family events, it always leaves a question in my mind – when two people living together can have so many difference of opinion, how can such large number of people live under one roof with common likes and dislikes – Be it be food or watching a movie together or may be the color of the walls. All I can hear is a large chaos unless you learn to sacrifice and take care of group interest. But when you sacrifice or surrender, aren’t you making yourself unhappy.
 
My friend was talking about their big family while having dinner – the big family with many people living together. He was telling that every day is a festival at their home; every meal is a feast. When they buy an ice cream, they buy in such large quantities for the entire family and not just for themselves. The whole family and every member in the family are always in their thoughts.
 
As my friend talked more and more about their day to day activities, I could relate that to what happened to us during the power outage recently. When we had the power outage, we got the shelter in one of my friend’s place. We were around 15 people under one roof. I always love to be with more and more people but I feared that more people mean more mess.  But in those two days we were living as one family, having food together, playing cards and things like that. I always love to be a part of a big family probably because I love to be with people. I love to talk listen when others talk. I love to be in thoughts of my dear ones who will be in my thoughts always. More than anything it is so nice to be with people.
 
These days we hardly find any joint families. May be because the individual priorities are so different that its better to be nuclear than joint.
 
Cheers
(,”)
<((>
./|.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment