Festival time – time to relax and enjoy

Its festival time in US of A and Seattle is pouring rain all the time. With clouds and rains all the time, we didn’t have any specific plans for 4- day long weekend.
 
Saturday evening was a movie night and on Sunday morning we hit the road. My friend Sasi had rented a car and we were totally aimless on where we need to go. On our way we talked about driving west to Olympic national forest, north to Mt. Baker area, East to Spokane but finally ended up driving south to Portland. We reached Portland Sunday night. I think rains and clouds were just following us or may be they are making sure of their presence wherever we go. We had packed some food and clothing before we started our drive (I am so used to these crazy drives and unplanned vacations). Smart enough, we reserved all the food we had and had dinner from restaurants outside. We know for sure, the next day was Xmas and no shops will be open.
 
On Dec 25th, we headed towards Mt. hood. I remember we going to Mt. hood two yrs back around the same time. The roads were covered in snow and at some point we had road warnings that we should drive with snow chains. We decided to pull over to the nearby snow bunny area and decided to play around. We got the snow tubing and slided over the snow. I was worried a little if I will end up sliding on my back instead of tube, but I did manage pretty good sliding on the tube. Me and my hero did slide together on the tube. When me and Sasi were trying to slide together, it didn’t work out that well. As soon as I sat on the tube, it started sliding and Sasi was half way through sitting in the tube. But as I was sliding, I thought I will be able to lift Sasi and was holding her tight to pull her back to the tube. I did forget the fact that she is sliding under gravity on a slippery surface. Poor thing she was sliding on her back. After coming all the way down, my hero was telling me that I should not have pulled Sasi along with me. As soon as someone slips off the tube during snow tubing, they should just bungie jump and let the tube fall down. They can then walk down. We drove further and went to Multnomah Falls and other falls on the way. We returned back home late in the evening.
 
Mt hood is on the US 26. Make sure you fill your gas before you reach. The best point for skiing is timberline lodge. There is cascade scenic loop which goes from US 26 and then towards US 35 North. This scenic way will take you through the hood river and to Multnomah Falls. The falls is in Historic Columbia Highway. There are around 6-7 waterfalls on this historic Columbia highway scenic road. These falls stand spectacular and stand unique for their height.
 
Cheers
(,”)
<((>
./|.
This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment