Visitor visa for Canada

We are planning to go Canada for my visa stamping. In one of my previous blog, I had mentioned how to book an appointment in US consulate, Canada.
 
Now to go to Canada, we need to get a Canadian visa. Some citizens don’t need Canadian visa. Check http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/visit/visas.html to see if you need one to enter Canada.
 
We went to the Canadian consulate in Seattle . In Seattle they accept applications from Visitors, Workers and Students. The consulate accepts applications from 8am – 10am Monday through Friday. We reached there by 8.40am and there were at least 50 people already waiting there. So be sure to reach there by 8am to have your application processed early.
 
The process is much straight forward and simple. If you have the necessary documents with reasoning, then you are granted visa. Remember to have exact cash with you. The office will not accept more or less cash  than what is required for your visa.
 
One thing to note though is the photo specifications. They have mentioned that “Your face must be square to the camera with a neutral expression, neither frowning nor smiling, and with your mouth closed” and they really mean it. I had my smile (like you see in one of those toothpaste ads with all teeth shown) on my photograph and that didn’t meet the expectations. I had to rush back to get myself photographed against.
 
I think for a multiple entry visa application, the visa is granted based on passport validity date and not on your US Visa expiry date. I have my US Visa valid till 2009 though my passport expires in 2007. I was granted Canadian visa only till 2007.
 
But I should definitely call out that these officers are really friendly and they welcome people to their country if the reason for visit is valid
Cheers
(,”)
<((>
./|.
This entry was posted in Visa. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Visitor visa for Canada

  1. Unknown says:

    hi, I wanted to know what was the process time for the Visitor Visa, did you get your passport the same day (at the time of interview or in the evening?) or you got it posted? It will really help if you could email me your experience on when your passport was returned after the visa approval. Thanks.

  2. Gomathi says:

    You will get the visa same day, I think by noon

Leave a comment