In search of my God at 3000ft Elevation

Saturday morning: we set out to our second outing of the season. The weather is not quite encouraging, still we decided to drive to St. Helens. It took us around 2 hrs to reach the visitor center only to hear that clouds are blocking the best of the views. We are not discouraged and continue to drive, stopping at some of the view points and finally the Forest Learning Center. It was quite windy, so we headed to the gift shop after having a quick lunch in the car (yea, I pack lunch most of the times when we go out for my boys). The gift shop had may be 2-3 people in addition to us and suddenly something caught my attention – Mood rings. Well if you wear one of them, the mood rings change color reflecting your mood at that time. I decided to try one and it showed me green which says I am “somewhat relaxed”. I tried one of Abhay and the ring changed its color to Blue – And blue means “extremely relaxed”. Of course, you don’t expect anything more from a 14 month old kido.

 

We stayed there for a while and started our drive back. On our back we stopped to have some fries and milk shake from McDonald’s and that’s when I had my shock – The ring which I had originally on my finger is missing. We searched the entire car, searched my purse, Abhay’s diaper bag and what not. I lost my ring. The ring had one of my favorite gods graved in it. I wind back my memory and all I could remember was taking the ring off my hands to wear the mood ring. I just can’t recollect where I kept my original ring. We had almost reached home by then and its was getting dark for us to drive back and check anywhere. Oh my, I was so upset.  

 

I couldn’t sleep all night. The ring which I have been wearing for so many years is not with me. I just don’t feel ok anymore.

 

Sunday morning: I decided to drive to St. Helens to search everywhere that I went. Boys joined me. And Guess what – Weather is so supportive today and I can see many cars driving with us as we headed to St. Helens. We directly went to the Forest Learning Center post noon and I hurried to the gift shop. The shop is crowded with people today, for the good weather we have. I was waiting in the queue to talk to the cashier. There are still 4 people ahead of me. I decided to step out of the queue and walk every corner where I went ysday. And yes – there it is, the not so perfect round ring is lying just under the basket of those mood rings. Boy, can you guess how I felt when I found my God at 3000 ft elevationJ.

 

I returned from St. Helens with my ring and a Souvenir jacket which I got from that shop

 

Cheers

(.”)

<((>

./|.

This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In search of my God at 3000ft Elevation

  1. Monika says:

    glad that you found your own ring

  2. Subhasree says:

    Im so happy you found your Ring 🙂 Love you… Super good trip to St Helens God made sure you visisted there while there was good weather too

  3. Reena says:

    To me this narration is not abt ur ring, but your patience / craziness. Wish I had your patience, and more so wish to be like your boys in putting up with a loved ones craziness. Hats off to you all.

  4. Gomathi says:

    Reena – or may be my obsession with my ring.. I just couldnt let it go 🙂

  5. Uthra says:

    Paavam dee Shankar and kutty…Neway good that you got it

Leave a comment