I meant Bothell when I said Bothell

After thinking for more than “few seconds”, it gave me the options – Lottery, Moxie, Lucky, Marty

Nope, ‘Bothell’. I said again

Thought for a while and proposed “Hot” [no.. I swear, I didn’t mean that]

I repeated “Bothell”

And now I hear it saying “98”. [Man – what has 98 to do with Bothell?]

I repeated ‘Bothell, Washington’

It said – ‘Holland’

 

This time, I got really mad and I yelled “BOTHELL, Washington”

I got a message “Sorry, we are unable to complete your request’

 

Aren’t these speech recognition options in cell phones really weird? Has anyone been able to get what they want in the first attempt.

 

Cheers

(,”)

<((>

./|.

 

This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I meant Bothell when I said Bothell

  1. kanchan says:

    In splits for 5 whole minutes. Man I have a tummy ache laughing continuously!!!
     
    Yep.. have had that issue with Bothell and many other words!!

  2. Reena says:

    He He he … Had this experience several times… try reaching for someone at work by providing the name…
    Initially we had to learn American and now looks like we have to learn having a mechanised voice to deal with these machines.

  3. Vijaykumar says:

    Use live search mobile

  4. Vijaykumar says:

    Or better yet, speak in English

  5. Prathiraj says:

    since you hinted about the application you tried this on, which is my favorite, I need to chime in ;-)I see two issues -* thinking for more than a few seconds – totally depends on the data connection, I experience this more in my T-mobile GPRS but not with ATT BJ II which uses 3G* recognizing – I went out to try this (T-mobile GPRS), I said "bothell washington" and it gave one result – "Bothell, WA". Did you check if you got the client update for this version? There has been an upgrade to recognition engine which does a good job of recognizing many dialects of English.I also have to repeat Vijay\’s comments – did you speak in English or Malyalam+English 😉

  6. Gomathi says:

    Ah.. I did speak English just as I wrote here :). May be speach recognition is not tuned to consider female voice 🙂
     
    @ Vijay: What I had written above was tried on LiveSearchMobile.
     
    Btw: where is the upgrade to recognition engine. Let me try my luck on that

Leave a comment