My first root canal experience

The filling that I had on my tooth came out. After examining the hole in the tooth, the doc instructed that I should be going for a root canal. God.. I have never done that in my life time. What does a root canal mean? Is it a surgery or a therapy. A thousand million questions came into my mind. I started going through some internet sites and here is what Wikipedia says:
 
Root canals are the long passages full of soft tissue deep within the dentin of a tooth, adjoining the pulp chamber. In dentistry, a pulpectomy is an endodontic treatment to cure an infection of the root canal; informally a root canal.
 
This doesn’t help me – most of these words are like those strange words in Science . I called up the front desk at the doctor’s office and ask her to explain to me the root canal process. A nice lady, she explained to me what it is all about. I collect all the guts in me and went for the root canal ysday. After seeing the practitioner and doc and of course all those set of weapons, I changed my mind and decided not to do the root canal. The doc was a nice guy, took a digital x-ray of my tooth and explained to me what this damn thing is all about. It took around 40 min before I made up my mind and said – lets go for it. The doc gave me a local anesthetic. It didn’t pain me till I realized he was giving me shots for anesthesia.
 
Then the mega process started. All the weapons that I saw a while back moved hands from the practitioner to the doctor and then they were coming close to my mouth. I was horrified but decided to close my eyes and sit calm. I could hear the grinding, scraping, granting, crushing and what not noise within my mouth, smell blood odors, I got a glance of the blood coated tooth through the reflection mirror in the microscope. That nearly killed me and my body was wandering with all the million questions that I had about root canal. I decided to remain calm and stay easy. About a hour later – the doc gave me a pat and said – I am all set to go, the process was successful. Probably this is the lengthiest hour of 60 minutes I have ever had in my life. Thanks to the doctor who handled me so delicately and I am back home safe, hale and healthy.
 
My hero says: this is probably the first and the last day I would ever see my wife silent; the entire house was noiseless L
 
Cheers
(,”)
<((>
./|.
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment