And its snow again in Redmond

It doesn’t look like as though I am in West coast of WA. I am experiencing like an East coast resident where majority of winter is snow.
 
Here is how it was for me.
 
My work location: Sammamish, Issaquah
Date: 1/10/07
 
4:50 pm: My co worker drops by and says that there is lot of snow in Redmond, Kirland area.
 
4:51 pm: I decided to shut down my work
 
4:52 pm: My hero sends me a message that its all snow in Redmond and its unsafe to drive from Issaquah to Redmond.
 
4:55 pm: I pack up and drop by my friends office and he says its pretty safe to drive. Now I am really confused. Should I drive back home or should I just go by Microsoft shuttle
 
4:56 pm: I take the wise decision to leave my car at work and get back home by shuttle
 
4:57 pm: Lobby receptionist confirms that MS shuttle services are operating
 
4: 58 pm: I come out to building lobby and see a MS car waiting outside. I had the bigh sigh on my face and I got into the car. The shuttle driver tells me that he is not going to Redmond. He is driving to East point campus. He was nice to me and he called Shuttle services to see if he can re-route. They gave him the message that Shuttle services to Sammamish are delayed due to bad weather and I can expect the shuttle by another 45 minutes or so. I got out of the car and went back to lobby worried, tensed and what not. I checked the news online and they say snow showers and traffic is making the roads slushy everywhere. I saw many accidents being reported.
 
5:04 pm: My hero reminds me that I had left the house keys in the car and I should get before I start from there. That was really thoughtful. I got the house keys and my gloves from the car.
 
5: 07 pm: the shuttle driver comes back and finds me in Sammamish lobby. He says he was instructed to re-route to Redmond and he can drop me in main campus
 
5:08 pm: I check with some others in office and we four squeeze into that small MS shuttle car. My cell phone charge drains off and I cannot contact my hero anyway now L
 
5: 55 pm: We managed to cover approx 1.5 mile distance are about to enter I- 90. I could see many cars abandoned on the road. The owners might have thought it is safe to find alternate way of reaching home.
 
6:40 pm: We have crossed three exits in I-90 and now on ramp to 156th ave. Freeway has pedestrians, abandoned cars, and state patrol cars
 
6:50 pm: 156th ave is pretty bad and we get back to 148th ave
 
7:20 pm: We have crossed few lights in 148th ave and now in SE 20th street. I tried switching on my cell and send message to my hero that I am in 148th ave. Before I get a reply, my cell phone is again out. I don’t know where he is. Somewhere I was able to connect to a unsecured wireless network and I connect to send message to my hero and no reply from him. I am now really worried about him.
 
8:20 pm: We cover approximately 3 miles and reach 148th ave and NE 46th street. Now I have to start walking. I had two laptops and one lunch bag to drag along with me. I couldn’t leave them at work because there is an office move planned for 1/11 and 1/12
 
8: 35 pm: I have reached apartment entrance. I almost skid on the road twice. Thank God, I didn’t fall anywhere
 
8:40pm: I could see my hero who had started walking in search of me. Believe me, seeing him was blessing to my eyes. A big hug from him was all that I longing for.
 
8:48 pm: I am at home with my hero, sipping the hot-hot coffee he made for me.
 
The road conditions are being unbelievably bad every where. I hope everyone s back home safe. It looks like its gonna be chill outside till Saturday or so. Please plan accordingly.
 
More information:
 
Cheers
(,”)
<((>
./|.
 
This entry was posted in Environment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment