Dowry: They feel it is the right to ask

I was having a chito-chat with one of my no-name acquaintance. It was really long since I spoke to him and he was telling me about his plans to get married. According to him, his family will search for the girl and identify the one who can give more dowry. No kidding. He meant what he talked. According to him, his parents has taken all trouble to bring him up in life, give him the best education in the state and they have the full rights to ask dowry which will in turn repay the money they have spend on him so far. I asked my friend if the same thing apply to the bride also, like if she is educated her parents have the right to ask for all those expenses from the time she was born. My friend had the ready made answer saying its the wife who is the addition to the husbands family and not vice versa. So they always take into account the expenses from the husband’s side. I felt really angry at this point that I almost ended the conversation giving a not-so decent excuse.

After being so educated, I can see my friend supporting dowry system. The more I see it, the more I realize that we are growing in number but our thoughts are still old – as old as hundreds decades. Wish we could change as we talk..

Cheers
(,")
<((>
./|.

 

This entry was posted in Society. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Dowry: They feel it is the right to ask

  1. Unknown says:

    If hes a mallu, ask him to watch a movie named "sandesham", specially, towards the end theres an outburst from Thilakan on Mala aravindan. Happened to see this movie last weekend, and thought it might help change the thoughts of your friend.
     

Leave a comment